
Unless specifically exempted by statute,  
any Illinois resident who acquires or 
possesses firearms, firearm ammunition, 
a stun gun or a taser within the state of 
Illinois must have in their possession a valid 
Firearm Owner’s Identification (FOID) card 
or Illinois Concealed Carry License (ILCCL) 
issued in their name. 

Answers provided to the following questions 
are meant only to give general guidance 
about transporting firearms and ammunition. 
The answers do not and are not meant to 
replace statutory language cited in 430 
ILCS 65/ and 430 ILCS 66/.

WHERE CAN I OBTAIN A  
FOID APPLICATION? 
On March 16, 2015, the FOID application 
transitioned to an on-line process. 
Therefore, the Illinois State Police no 
longer accepts preprinted applications. The 
FOID application can be completed on the 
Department’s website, at www.ispfsb.com. 
Paper applications, which may be obtained 
by contacting the Firearms Services Bureau 
Call Center at (217) 782-7980, will only be 
accepted from applicants with appropriate 
proof they are unable to apply either on the 
internet or at a customer service kiosk due 
to religion or a disability. 

Proof of disability includes, but is not limited to, 
documentation from: 

 A)  The Social Security Administration; 
 B)   The Illinois Worker’s Compensation 

Commission; 
 C)  The U.S. Department of Defense; 
 D)   An insurer authorized to transact business 

in Illinois who is providing disability 
insurance coverage; or 

 E)   A physician or heath care provider licensed 
in this State and is in the position to know 
the applicant’s medical condition. 

Non-residents are not required to have a FOID 
card. The FOID card is NOT a license to carry 
concealed.

HOW MUCH DOES A FOID CARD 
COST AND HOW LONG IS IT VALID? 
Applying for a FOID card is $10. A FOID card is 
valid for 10 years.

I AM A NEW RESIDENT OF 
ILLINOIS. HOW LONG DO I HAVE 
TO OBTAIN A FOID CARD?
You have 60 calendar days after you obtain your 
Illinois Driver’s License or Illinois Identification 
Card, to apply for a FOID card in order to comply 
with Illinois law. 

IF I HAVE A NAME OR ADDRESS 
CHANGE, HOW LONG DO I HAVE 
BEFORE I MUST NOTIFY THE 
ILLINOIS STATE POLICE? 
When you move from the residence named on 
your FOID card, you have 21 calendar days to 
notify the Illinois State Police of your address 
change. Any person whose legal name has 
changed from the name on the FOID card will 
need to submit an application for a corrected card 
within 30 calendar days. Both changes may be 
completed online at the Department’s website: 
www.ispfsb.com or by calling (217) 782-7980. 

HOW CAN I LEGALLY TRANSPORT 
A FIREARM IN A VEHICLE? 
Four statutory sections regulate the possession, 
transfer and transportation of firearms: the 
Criminal Code; the Wildlife Code; the Firearm 
Owner’s Identification Act; and the Firearm 
Concealed Carry Act. 

When transporting a firearm, it must be: 
  broken down in a non-functioning state; or
 not immediately accessible; or 
  unloaded and enclosed in a case, firearm 

carrying box, shipping box, or other container 
by a person who has a valid FOID card; or 
carried or possessed in accordance with the 
Firearm Concealed Carry Act (430 ILCS 66/) 
by a person who has a valid Illinois Concealed 
Carry License. 

WHAT CONSTITUTES A LEGAL 
CASE FOR TRANSPORTING A 
FIREARM? 
The Criminal Code refers to a case as a firearm 
carrying box, shipping box, or other container.  
A case completely encloses the firearm.

IF A NON-RESIDENT IS VISITING 
ILLINOIS, HUNTING, OR 
TRAVELING WITH A FIREARM, 
HOW DO THEY LEGALLY 
TRANSPORT IT? 
Non-residents are not required to have an 
Illinois FOID card but must be legally eligible  
to possess or acquire firearms and ammunition 
as determined by their home state. 

In order to comply with Illinois statutes while 
transporting a firearm, it must be:
  broken down in a non-functioning state; or 
  not immediately accessible; or 
  unloaded and enclosed in a case, firearm 

carrying box, shipping box, or other 
container by a person who has a valid FOID 
card; or carried or possessed in accordance 
with the Firearm Concealed Carry Act (430 
ILCS 66/) by a person who has a valid 
Illinois Concealed Carry License. 

If the non-resident leaves the vehicle 
unattended, the firearm must be stored 
concealed in a case inside the locked vehicle 
or locked container within the vehicle out of 
plain view. For the purpose of subsection 
430 ILCS 66/65(b), a “case” includes a glove 
compartment or console that completely 
encloses the concealed firearm or ammunition, 
the trunk of the vehicle, or a firearm carrying 
box, shipping box, or other container. 

Remember – Section 6.2 of the 
FOID Card Act provides, “The display 
or possession of an electronic (eCard) 
version of a valid Firearm Owner’s 
Identification Card in accordance with  
the requirements of the Illinois State 
Police satisfies all requirements for the 
display or possession of a valid Firearm 
Owner’s Identification Card under the 
laws of this State.”

Please note, the updated 
information provided must match  
the information on your Illinois 
Driver’s License or Illinois 
Identification Card. The cost for  
a corrected FOID card is $5.



WHAT IS REQUIRED OF AN 
ILLINOIS RESIDENT OR A NON-
RESIDENT WHO IS PROPERLY 
LICENSED AND CARRYING A 
CONCEALED FIREARM WHEN 
CONTACT IS MADE WITH A LAW 
ENFORCEMENT OFFICER? 
Upon the request of the officer, the licensee or 
nonresident will disclose to the officer that he 
or she is in possession of a concealed firearm 
or present the license upon the request of 
the officer per the Concealed Carry Act. The 
licensee or the non-resident will also identify  
the location of the concealed firearm and  
permit the officer to safely secure the firearm  
for the duration of the investigative stop.  
During a traffic stop, all resident and non-
resident passengers are required to act in the 
same manner.

I HAVE A CONCEALED CARRY 
LICENSE ISSUED BY ANOTHER 
STATE, IS MY LICENSE 
RECOGNIZED IN ILLINOIS?
No. Illinois does not recognize concealed carry 
licenses from other states. However, a resident 
from another state who has a valid concealed 
carry license from their home state may carry 
a concealed firearm within a vehicle while 
traveling through Illinois. If the non-resident 
leaves his or her vehicle unattended, the  
firearm shall be stored within a locked vehicle  
or locked container within the vehicle. 

HOW DO I TRANSPORT A 
FIREARM THROUGH AN ILLINOIS 
COMMUNITY WITH AN ORDINANCE 
THAT PROHIBITS FIREARMS OR 
HANDGUNS?
Illinois’ Unlawful Use of Weapons Act does not 
preempt local ordinances from banning firearms. 
Persons carrying or transporting firearms 
through such communities could be subject to 
local firearm ordinances. Per Illinois statute 430 
ILCS 65/13.3, every municipality must submit 
to the Illinois State Police a copy of every 
ordinance adopted that regulates the acquisition, 
possession, sale or transfer of firearms. The 
Illinois State Police publishes a copy of the 
ordinances submitted on its Department web 
site at www.ispfsb.com. It is recommended you 
contact the local municipality about their firearm 
ordinances to ensure you are in compliance. 

HOW CAN I LEGALLY TRANSPORT 
OR POSSESS FIREARM 
AMMUNITION? 
Illinois law requires residents possessing 
ammunition to have in their possession a 
valid FOID card or Illinois Concealed Carry 
License issued in their name. The location of 
the ammunition being transported, including 
ammunition being transported in loaded 
magazines, is not regulated if the firearm is 
lawfully possessed and transported. When 
transporting, do NOT store a loaded magazine  
in the firearm’s magazine well or ammunition  
in a revolver’s cylinder. 

IS IT LEGAL TO HAVE 
AMMUNITION IN THE CASE WITH 
THE FIREARM? 
Yes, if the firearm is unloaded and properly 
cased. 

AS AN ILLINOIS RESIDENT, WHAT 
DOES A VALID FOID CARD ALLOW 
ME TO POSSESS? 
Unless specifically exempted by statute, any 
Illinois resident who acquires or possesses 
firearms, firearm ammunition, tasers or stun guns, 
or switchblade knife within the State must have in 
their possession a valid FOID Card issued in his 
or her name. Non-residents are not eligible  
to have a FOID Card.

WHERE CAN I FIND ADDITIONAL 
INFORMATION PERTAINING TO 
FOID CARDS? 
Please visit the Illinois State Police website 
at www.ispfsb.com for additional answers to 
frequently asked questions. 

FOR MORE INFORMATION, 
CONTACT: 
Illinois State Police Firearms Services Bureau 
(217) 782-7980
www.ispfsb.com 

Illinois Department of Natural Resources 
(217) 782-6431
www.dnr.state.il.us
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